clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ole Miss football adds South Carolina and Kentucky to 10-game, conference-only schedule

Let’s ride.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 09 New Mexico State at Ole Miss Photo by Michael Wade/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Ole Miss football will add Kentucky and South Carolina to its 10-game, conference-only schedule, the Southeastern Conference announced on Friday.

Originally scheduled to face UConn, Southeast Missouri, Baylor and Georgia Southern, the non-conference games will be scrapped and the Rebels will travel to Lexington to face the Wildcatss and host the Gamecocks instead. The SEC West matchups will remain in tact, and the Florida Gators will travel to Oxford as planned. Ole Miss is 27-14 against Kentucky and 8-8 against South Carolina all-time.

The NCAA has granted each FBS program a blanket waiver for two credited FCS wins for bowl eligibility requirements. Thus, for Ole Miss to reach the necessary six wins, it will have to beat Vanderbilt and Arkansas as expected, as well as two of Florida, Alabama, Auburn, LSU, Texas A&M, Mississippi State, Kentucky or South Carolina. Lane Kiffin’s first year in Oxford has been anything but ordinary, but avoiding Georgia or an ‘all the way back’ Tennessee is about as good as it could it get it.

The complete schedule and dates will be announced by the conference next week.