clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Breein Tyree named first team All-SEC for second consecutive season

A surprise to nobody.

NCAA Basketball: Missouri at Mississippi Petre Thomas-USA TODAY Sports

Breein Tyree has been named first team All-SEC for the second time in his career on Tuesday. Ole Miss’ senior guard joins Ansu Sesay and Stefan Moody as the only Rebels to receive the high conference honor in back-to-back seasons, and is arguably better than his predecessors.

In his final year in Oxford, the New Jersey native is averaging 19.7 points per game, good for the second most in the SEC behind only Mason Jones, who did not play a complete year. Shooting 45 percent from the field and 39.4 percent from three, Tyree is scoring 22.2 points per game in-conference and becomes the third Rebel to average more than 20 points per game against SEC opponents since 1998-99 season.

To add to his nine 20+ point games in SEC play, Tyree added six out-of-conference to total 15 on the year, just under half of all regular season games. His career-high came in February when he dropped 40 points against Mississippi State.

Tyree’s time at Ole Miss is one for the history books in many categories, and he currently sits seventh on the program’s all-time scoring list with 1,749 points and sixth in Ole Miss history with 204 three-pointers made. He also joins an exclusive club of three Rebels to make 200 three-pointers and score at least 1,700 points. Chris Warren and Joe Harvell also accomplished the feat, but Tyree did so in 129 games.

Ole Miss will have a large void to fill after Tyree graduates, but first, the Rebels head to Nashville for the SEC Tournament and begin a quest for an automatic NCAA Tournament birth with Georgia on Wednesday. Enjoy No. 4’s last moments in red and blue while you can.

Here is the (nine player??) list to receive the same fist team All-SEC honor this season:

  • Kira Lewis Jr., Alabama
  • Mason Jones, Arkansas
  • Samir Doughty, Auburn
  • Keyontae Johnson, Florida
  • Immanuel Quickley, Kentucky
  • Nick Richards, Kentucky
  • Skylar Mays, LSU
  • Breein Tyree, Ole Miss
  • Reggie Perry, Mississippi State

And here is the full list of SEC regular season honors: