clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Here’s the schedule for SEC football media days 2018

This is the first time since 1985 the event will not be in Hoover, Ala.

NCAA Football: SEC Media Days Adam Hagy-USA TODAY Sports

The SEC announced on Thursday the full schedule of teams’ media availabilities at July’s SEC Media Days, hosted at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Ga. Ole Miss football head coach Matt Luke will take the dais as the day’s final appearance on Tuesday, July 17.

The full Rebel delegation of players that will accompany Luke has yet to be announced, though one assumes QB Jordan Ta’amu and WR A.J. Brown will be among those in attendance. We’re certainly a long way out from 2017’s media conference, which included then Ole Miss quarterback Shea Patterson and former head coach Hugh Freeze. How times have changed.

2018’s installment of SEC Media Days will take place July 16-19 at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Ga., the first time the event has taken place not in Hoover, Ala. since 1985. If you’ve never been, the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Ga. is an NCAA corporate funhouse dedicated to Respect for the Game and the History of the Sport, replete with ancient football uniforms and protective gear that probably contributed to head trauma rather than protected against it. There’s also a lot of BCS bullshit and Coach Quotes on the walls, but at least it includes something like a children’s play pen for football drills.

Here, then, Matt Luke and a handful of Ole Miss football players will descend in the dead of summer this year to talk to the media about ... football things. There’s again no postseason, but we’re all dying to know about expectations and progress and who this year’s standouts will be. Has the system improved, Coach, and if so, how?

Hard hitting stuff, indeed. See y’all there.

Full schedule for SEC Media Days 2018:

MONDAY, July 16

Kentucky - Mark Stoops
LSU - Ed Orgeron
Texas A&M - Jimbo Fisher

TUESDAY, July 17

Arkansas - Chad Morris
Florida - Dan Mullen
Georgia - Kirby Smart
Ole Miss - Matt Luke


Alabama - Nick Saban
Mississippi State - Joe Moorhead
Missouri - Barry Odom
Tennessee - Jeremy Pruitt


Auburn - Gus Malzahn
South Carolina - Will Muschamp
Vanderbilt - Derek Mason