clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ole Miss seniors will be able to transfer without penalty

NCAA rules will allow an exodus of Rebel upperclassmen.

Vanderbilt v Mississippi Photo by Michael Chang/Getty Images

The NCAA sanctions imposed on the Ole Miss Rebels could have important ramifications for the 2018 senior class, as a spokeswoman confirmed to ESPN on Friday that those players can transfer without penalty.

Here’s what the NCAA rulebook says:

"It is not necessary for an institution to obtain permission in writing to recruit a student-athlete at an institution that has been placed on probation with sanctions that preclude it from competing in postseason competition during the remaining seasons of the student-athlete's eligibility. However, the student-athlete's institution must be notified of the recruitment and may establish reasonable restrictions related to the contact (e.g., no visits during class time), provided such restrictions do not preclude the opportunity for the student-athlete to discuss transfer possibilities with the other institution."

Notable juniors on the team who could transfer elsewhere and immediately become eligible for the 2018 season include quarterback Jordan Ta’amu, wide receiver DaMarkus Lodge, defensive end Breeland Speaks, defensive back Zedrick Woods, and defensive back C.J. Moore.

Other players on the team wishing to transfer will have to sit out a season or otherwise receive a waiver from the NCAA to play immediately.

In a unique situation, safety Deontay Anderson sat out the 2017 season and was recently granted a full release from the school to remove the no-contact rule so that he can communicate with other programs.

However, Ole Miss officials also indicated on Friday that the school will appeal the postseason ban for 2018.