clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 preseason All-SEC team: Chad Kelly is a near-unanimous 1st-teamer

Evan Engram and Tony Conner made it onto the second team, while Marquis Haynes and Javon Patterson were named third-teamers.

Chuck Cook-USA TODAY Sports

I'm not sure if the SEC media backs Chad Kelly's claim as the best quarterback in the country, but it sure as hell thinks he's the best quarterback in the conference. All but 10 of the 331 media members who submitted ballots for the All-SEC team picked Swag as the first-team signal caller. Only Leonard Fournette pulled more votes (329).

Swag was the only Rebel on the first team. Tight end Evan Engram and defensive back Tony Conner were named to the second team, while D-end Marquis Haynes and offensive guard Javon Patterson made it as third-teamers.

Chad was in full swag mode at SEC Media Days on Thursday, listing off his favorite rappers (he did not include himself unfortunately), trolling his old pals back at Clemson and, most notably, declaring himself "the best quarterback in the nation."

"You have to feel that way," Kelly told reporters. "In order to have confidence in yourself and team, you have to think you're the best. That's what I want our whole team -- from offensive linemen to running backs -- we have to think we're the best players and the best team out there."

Frankly, it's not at all a far-fetched declaration. Swag, who led the conference in touchdowns, yards and big plays, ranks fifth nationally in 2015 passer rating among all returning quarterbacks. And that was all in his first year in Hugh Freeze's offense. The correlation between games played and statistical performance certainly backs up the idea that Kelly is getting better as he becomes more comfortable within the system.

Chad Kelly QBR chart

We know how obsessive this guy is with his tape study, so just imagine what another offseason could do.

Complete All-SEC selections

(Votes received are in parentheses)

First team
Offense Defense Special Teams
QB Chad Kelly, Ole Miss (321) DL Jonathan Allen, Alabama (301) P JK Scott, Alabama (252)
RB Leonard Fournette, LSU (329) DL Myles Garrett, Texas A&M (286) PK Daniel Carlson, Auburn (198)
RB Nick Chubb, Georgia (308) DL Carl Lawson, Auburn (253) RS Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (214)
WR Calvin Ridley, Alabama (318) DL Derek Barnett, Tennessee (171) AP Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (240)
WR Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (223) LB Reuben Foster, Alabama (265)
TE O.J. Howard, Alabama (294) LB Kendell Beckwith, LSU (231)
OL Cam Robinson, Alabama (315) LB Jalen Reeves-Maybin, Tennessee (223)
OL Dan Skipper, Arkansas (228) DB Eddie Jackson, Alabama (293)
OL Greg Pyke, Georgia (171) DB Jalen Tabor, Florida (249)
OL Alex Kozan, Auburn (165) DB Tre'Davious White, LSU (221)
C Ethan Pocic, LSU (188) DB Cameron Sutton, Tennessee (213)
Second team
Offense Defense Special teams
QB Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee (313) DL Montravius Adams, Auburn (167) P Johnny Townsend, Florida (124)
RB Jalen Hurd, Tennessee (278) DL Bryan Cox, Florida (105) PK Adam Griffith, Alabama (174)
RB Ralph Webb, Vanderbilt (151) DL Davon Godchaux, LSU (105) RS Evan Berry, Tennessee (163)
WR Malachi Dupre, LSU (167) DL Charles Harris, Missouri (103) AP Alvin Kamara, Tennessee (152)
WR Fred Ross, Mississippi State (139) LB Tim Williams, Alabama (196)
TE Evan Engram, Ole Miss (214) LB Zach Cunningham, Vanderbilt (178)
OL Martez Ivey, Florida (152) LB Jarrad Davis, Florida (160)
OL William Clapp, LSU (143) DB Jamal Adams, LSU (193)
OL David Sharpe, Florida (138) DB Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama (188)
OL Alphonse Taylor, Alabama (137) DB Tony Conner, Ole Miss (146)
C Brandon Kublanow, Georgia (121) DB Dominick Sanders, Georgia (145)
Third team
Offense Defense Special teams
QB Brandon Harris, LSU (25) DL Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss (102) P Trevor Daniel, Tennessee (97)
RB Stanley "Boom" Williams, Kentucky (60) DL Deatrich Wise, Arkansas (95) PK Elliott Fry, South Carolina (91)
RB Jovon Robinson, Auburn (55) DL Cece Jefferson, Florida (85) RS Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia (100)
WR Ricky Seals-Jones, Texas A&M (78) DL A.J. Jefferson, Mississippi State (84) AP Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia (112)
WR Drew Morgan, Arkansas (49) LB Lorenzo Carter, Georgia (92)
TE Jeremy Sprinkle, Arkansas (65) LB Richie Brown, Mississippi State (84)
OL Avery Gennesy, Texas A&M (120) LB Arden Key, LSU (76)
OL Jashon Robertson, Tennessee (119) DB Marcus Maye, Florida (139)
OL Braden Smith, Auburn (118) DB Marlon Humphrey, Alabama (120)
OL Javon Patterson, Ole Miss (113) DB Johnathan Ford, Auburn (105)
C Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama (101) DB Armani Watts, Texas A&M (74)

2016 preaseason all-sec