clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How to watch the College Football Playoff and bowl games selection show

We know Ole Miss has it in the bag, but it will become official at 2 p.m. CT on Sunday.

Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The Sugar Bowl selection guidelines make it very clear that Ole Miss -- the highest ranked SEC team not going to the Playoff -- will face Oklahoma State -- the highest team in the Big 12 standings not going to the Playoff -- in New Orleans on New Year's Day. But that won't become official until the CFP committee releases its final rankings at 2 p.m. CT on Sunday.

The selection show is set to start at 11 a.m. CT on ESPN, with the four Playoff teams being announced 30 minutes later. After the dust settled on Championship Saturday, we know those schools will almost certainly be Clemson, Alabama, Oklahoma and Michigan State, though the pairings are still up in the air.

Then we'll have to sit through an hour and a half of Playoff pontification before they announce the remaining New Years Six bowls: the Sugar, Rose, Peach and Fiesta.

The SEC's Sugar Bowl spot is typically given to the conference champ, but since Bama will be busy doing Playoff things, the invitation goes to the next team in the Playoff rankings. Ole Miss was five spots ahead of Florida in last week's rankings and that was before the Gators were pummeled by Bama in Atlanta on Saturday.

Rest assured, you won't have to go trying to cancel that hotel room in the Quarter -- as of Sunday afternoon, the Rebs will officially be New Orleans-bound.

ESPN's selection show schedule

You can stream everything online at

Coverage begins: 11 a.m. CT
Playoff teams announced: 11:30 a.m.
New Years Six and full top 25 announced: 2 p.m.
Interview with committee chair Jeff Long: 2:30 p.m.